Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 10-day Goenka Vipassana retreat - worth doing?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

vrandy

Canada
7 Posts

Posted - Aug 26 2016 :  12:18:40 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing DM for about 10 months, prior to that MBSR (mindfulness) for 18 months.

I find that DM fits much better for me.

I have signed up to sit in a 10-day Vipassana retreat (S.N. Goenka). It represent a fairly substantial time commitment for a junior meditator like me and so I wonder to what extent it is worth doing.

I understand that the techniques presented in the AYP series are considered to be more effective/powerful than other techniques such as Vipassana. Hence the fact that DM is practiced "only" 20 minutes at a time, twice daily, whereas Vipassana is supposed to be practiced 1 hour at a time, twice daily.

I have the time to attend such a retreat. I have the interest / curiosity to find out what it will be like for me. I will do my best to come with no expectations and to hopefully not get attached to the peaks and reject the valleys of what will be emerging.

So I guess for me, the answer would be "Why not?".

I am interested in hearing what thoughts people have about this.

yogani

USA
5195 Posts

Posted - Aug 26 2016 :  1:11:59 PM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi vrandy:

If you go on a vipassana retreat, it is suggested to use the techniques they teach there and not the AYP techniques, especially not deep meditation.