Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 'I am' vs. 'Sohum'
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

JSairam

USA
8 Posts

Posted - Jul 05 2016 :  5:25:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm relatively new to AYP (have been meditating and more recently practicing spinal breathing for about 6 weeks) and am at lesson 55. With this practice, I began using the mantra 'Sohum' because (1) it was introduced to me many years ago by a beloved spiritual teacher and I didn't want to have too many mantras, (2) I assumed the vibrational quality was similar, (3) the meaning - although I understand this is not significant - is similar.

I just came across this wonderful forum and see that there will be future enhancements to my mantra in upcoming lessons. Also learned some other students were specifically instructed to use 'I am' rather than a previous mantra. Most importantly, my meditations are not very deep, and my mind is busy and chattering. I'm having trouble separating the mantra from my breath, since it was previously taught in conjunction with the breath. Not sure how much of the monkey mind is normal at this early stage in the practice or if I should/could be experiencing more depth and stillness at this point.

I'm hesitant to change mantras at this time but am wondering if now is better than later if this is inevitable or preferable in any way. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and experience.

jusmail

India
491 Posts

Posted - Jul 05 2016 :  9:35:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Not sure if Sohum has enhancements later on. Switching to I am would be better sooner rather than later in that case.
Go to Top of Page

Blanche

USA
859 Posts

Posted - Jul 10 2016 :  10:23:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit Blanche's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply