Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 throat closing during meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

louisac

United Kingdom
8 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2016 :  07:25:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, newbie here.
I have recently started daily meditation following the book. I have tried to meditate in the past but never consistently. I had noticed this problem before and am now experiencing it again - often during meditation i begin to feel discomfort in the throat, which feels as if swollen and blocked. Its hard to tell, but the sensation feels 'real', in that my throat really feels physically restricted. It doesn't exactly hurt but is unpleasant and distracting. It tends to set in after a few minutes of meditation and stops pretty much instantly when I stop. I'm wondering what on earth could be going on, anybody have any ideas? As a total novice, my only thought is that possibly I have an extreme blockage in the throat chakra... ? Any thoughts welcome. Thanks for reading

BlueRaincoat

United Kingdom
1730 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2016 :  08:29:06 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi louisac, welcome to AYP

Yes, it sounds like a blockage and it will dissolve in time, with regular practice.

If it becomes a distraction during meditation, the way to deal with it is described in Lesson 15, especially the 4th paragraph - let you attention to be drawn to the discomfort for a while, till is subsides enough to allow you to go back to the mantra.

Best wishes
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2195 Posts

Posted - Apr 23 2016 :  11:03:31 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome louisac