Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 Spine Stretching
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rod

France
8 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2015 :  1:27:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I have just started to sit in siddasana within the last couple of months though I have been practicing dm in a chair for a couple of years. I tried it a few times when I first started but was way to stiff to get anywhere near. I felt an urge to try again recently and strangely enough, without any kind of conditioning exercises or stretching I found it very easy! Just thought I'd share that because sometimes it can seem like you are getting nowhere with DM when actually, subtle positive change is slowly taking place.

Anyway... To the point. Since practicing DM(and SBP) in siddasana I notice that my spine feels the need to stretch out during practice. I normally give in to the urge and twist the spine in order to crack my back. This is a bit distracting and I was considering adding some asanas before DM to see if that helps. I am finding that my routine is getting quite long already so don't want to add too much more time with asanas especially since I have only just started SBP again. I Would be grateful if anyone has any experience of what has been the most effective thing to do when first beginning asanas and any direct benefits that have been noticed.

Cheers!

BlueRaincoat

United Kingdom
1730 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2015 :  2:41:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Rod

I find that forwards bends do a good job of stretching the spine before sitting practices. I like Janushirshasana which seems to be especially good at improving energy flow along the spine. If I have very little time for asanas, I do Janushirshasana and one other pose that bends the spine the other way (for the sake of balancing things out) - I choose between Bhujangasana and Dhanurasana.