Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Doing SBP in reverse, and question on kumbhakas
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mykal K

Germany
266 Posts

Posted - Sep 21 2015 :  1:42:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit Mykal K's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I guess this is a question for Yogani mostly, but I would like all those that have something to share something from experience on the subject to do so:
Why do we go up on the inhale, and down on the exhale?
I have been doing so for almost three years now, but as I was never able to completely relax, and was always straining, I finally decided to switch directions.

For me, obvious benefits are:
1. Relaxation
2. Slowing down of breath
3. Ease of going down (especially to the bottom part) and up.

All of these benefits, as my feeling tells me, is because I follow the breath, and I feel that is something the body likes and can therefore relax -> there is a sense of security and there is no more fear that I will run out of breath.
Also, as I am coming down, there is no more difficulty in feeling the breath reaching the bottom part, as that part now opens with inhalation (before that part would constrict and therefore obstruct the flow of my attention).

I also practice kumbhakas (am now experimenting with all the techniques by going in this direction) and both were much smoother. Breath is much easier to catch if I go overboard, as almost as if I didn´t go overboard.

In my feeling, this is a much more natural way of doing Pranayama (if only for me).
So the question is, what am I missing? Did I just practice incorrectly?
If I did, why such a profound difference just by switching directions?

And, most importantly, what happens if I continue practicing this way? Here I mean the kumbhakas.
It was said in the lessons that for kumbhakas it is important to have focus on the third eye.