Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 What enlightenment might be.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - May 05 2015 :  11:22:06 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
This is a thesis. It is unproven as yet and so is an experiment in progress.

I have been meditating for several years at this point. I would say there are many benefits, but actually there are none in the manner that we judge benefits in general. Instead I have discovered that single pointed focus provides a point outside space and time to begin training the mind. It is somewhat like that of a set of weights and the student of physical training. The weights confer no benefits in themselves, neither does the student confer benefits on the weights. Even the exercise is of no immediate use to the student who is giving up some other action in order to undertake training.

There are, however, two requirements in order for the student to begin training. The first is desire, the second is the practical action of being able to handle the weights. If either is missing then the task is impossible.

During training the student learns what works best to increase strength and avoid injury-gradually improving his or her physical aspect. Yet, what is the point of it ? The body is stronger certainly, but for what purpose ? Is it in order that the body can work more productively, lasts longer, can withstand trauma, gives an inner feeling of strength ? The answer we cannot know. Often we cannot know why one might begin such a training or what purpose that training might serve.

So, why does anyone meditate ? Here the purpose compared to weight training is even less obvious.