Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Newcomer question regarding Self-Pacing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ace

Germany
30 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2014 :  08:03:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone ,

This is my first post in this forum and I'm extremely happy I found this site with incredible dense information and dedicated practicioners.

My question basically is how I see signs of overdoing the practice and if my current way of practicing could be improved. In order to give more information on my practice and situation, I'd like to introduce myself and my schedule.

I'm 22 years old in good health and I'm a student at the moment and possibly for 2-3 more years, if I do my master. I tell you this, because I'm extremly dedicated to get the best possible results from my practice as long I have the privilege of having so much freetime. That's why the concept of Self-pacing is somewhat hindering me to accomplish my goals.

My current practice consists of 2,5 hours on average every day. This time is usually divided into three sessions, consisting of around 50-60min each. I normally do 10min asanas, 15-20min spinal breathing (with sambhavi) and 20-35min of meditating.

I understand the concept of Self-pacing and already read some posts concerning the possible dangers form early kundalini awakening, but I feel that I'm at a quite early stage in practice and as long as no symptoms show, I could continue with 2,5hours a day. In fact I plan to increase the time to 3-4 hours over the next 2 months.

I would love to have some feedback from more experienced practicioners, because this issue is really important for me in my current situation. I'm constantly thinking about my spiritual practice and I want to do anything possible to progress further.