Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Having difficulties falling asleep
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Yogishammy

Sweden
14 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2014 :  09:42:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Greetings,

Some background:

I've been practising using the AYP-system for about ten months. I've been through a lot since then. Been blessed with a lot of purification, even if I experienced it as suffering for most of the time. It's clear now. Suffering is Grace. Onwards:

About two weeks ago, my compulsive thinking stopped. It happened after I faced some "problems" head on, rather than just showing them under the bed so to speak. For this entire period, I've had a hard time falling asleep. I lay awake for hours, without many thoughts but very aware.

I've been implementing a lot of safe-pacing during my 10 months of practice, and my current practice consists of
5 min pranayama (doing good progress with mulabandha, struggling with sambhavi)
15 min meditation
5-10 min rest.

Any suggestions?

Love

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2014 :  09:49:33 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Yogishammy,
Welcome to the AYP forums.

How close to bed time is your second practice session?
Go to Top of Page

Yogishammy

Sweden
14 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2014 :  10:37:12 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you :)

I usually finish about five hours prior to bed time.
Go to Top of Page

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2014 :  10:44:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Try to see if you can increase the gap and/or skip pranayama in your second session and/or skip the second session for a bit.

When you go to sleep, be aware of what you may be doing, like unconscious SpB or DM.

And ...
quote:
struggling with sambhavi