Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Changing Daily Routine Of Practices
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

itsallbollix

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - Mar 22 2014 :  10:49:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Instead of practising in the morning and evening are there any reasons I can't do both sessions in the morning, with a 10 min break between them?

Ecdyonurus

Switzerland
479 Posts

Posted - Mar 22 2014 :  12:33:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi, I am not very experienced and never tried what you suggest, but I think that on the first session you would miss one of the most interesting aspects of yoga, which is bringing the calmess achieved during practice into daily activity. But I may be completely wrong...
Go to Top of Page

AumNaturel

Canada
687 Posts

Posted - Mar 22 2014 :  1:15:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome itsallbollix,

I am also curious about whether one long session is more effective than two back to back with a short break in between. I've always done the former, as it is somewhat difficult to cut practices short when their momentum builds.

Some resources to help address the question:

over-sensitive: meditate once a day?

"Three hours per day is enough time to put together a really terrific twice-daily integrated practice routine covering all aspects of yoga, and leading to far greater results than doing any one practice for that duration." -p. 563, Support Forum Posts of Yogani