Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

taopol

France
5 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2011 :  12:34:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I would like to know more about the AYAM mantra. where does it come from ? from what tradition. How come I had never heard of it before reading Yogani. How does it compare to OM MANI PADME HUM, OM NAMAH SHIVAYA, HAMSA, SOHAM, or the HESYCHAST tradition ?
To be honest, I am a bit worried about its 'legitimity' and reading "DM pathway to personal freedom" didn't help, because there is no mention of a lineage or a tradition.

mikkiji

USA
219 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2011 :  12:59:58 PM  Show Profile  Visit mikkiji's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
This mantra is from the Vedanta tradition, and it is found as a root mantra in Rig Veda. It's a 100% "legit" mantra. I studied Sanskrit and was trained as a meditation teacher by the late Maharishi Mahesh Yogi--it's one of the mantras we use in TM, in fact! Any mantra with "Om" in it should be used with EXTREME caution, because the syllable "Om" is generally associated with a reclusive lifestyle and is best reserved for monks, sadhus and ascetics. Stop your worrying and find the silence...
Michael
Go to Top of Page

mimirom

Czech Republic
368 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2011 :  08:07:56 AM  Show Profile  Visit mimirom's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks Michael, good to know. I wonder why Yogani chose not to mention the origins of ayam anywhere. Maybe he wants to keep the possibility open for better future connection of yogic techniques to science, as opposed by the somewhat "heavy" heritage of the Traditions and our fixation onto them?
Go to Top of Page

yogani

USA
5195 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2011 :  10:45:12 AM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi All: