Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 combining AYP with embryonic breathing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Yaming

Switzerland
112 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2011 :  11:40:02 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone,
I have been practicing embryonic breathing for about 1.5 years. Since I don't feel like I have made much progress I started to look for a different meditation and I stumbled over this site here. I am a martial artist and embryonic breathing (EB) is the root to the internal side of it. That means I don't want to fully drop it but I want to try out the DM of AYP (actually I already started. One week in). Besides that it was mentioned here that most breath-focused meditation sooner or later need to have a an addon because they can't go beyond suspending the breath.
Could anyone recommend how I should combine those together?
Also I have a huge problem for sepperating my breath from the mantra or the mantra from my heartbeat. I practiced embryonic breathing on a regular base (6 days per week) and I took some longer breaks from it. However, the habit of focusing on my breath and inhaling into my lower abdomen with coordination of my perineum has become a habit. I tried to play with the mantra and let it go against my breath extending it or just break up the pattern once I realized that I'm coordinating with my breath. But somehow it never happens that I am fully on my mantra without paying attention to the breathing. Of course I am very new to the meditation and I don't expect that I get it from the beginning but maybe someone has some suggestions how I can deal with the problem without dropping EB totally? Of course if anyone knows a better meditation that applies into martial arts I'm very open to it.