New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Ruben

Netherlands
38 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2010 :  5:03:32 PM  Show Profile  Visit Ruben's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,

I'm very happy to have found this website. Reading it gives me peace of mind.

Apart from being new to this website, I'm also new to meditation, although I have been practicing asanas during the last year and did quite some research on yoga.

Before deciding to start actually practicing the key lessons on this website, it'd be truly interesting for me to hear your opinion or any suggestion on
(1) how closely the meditation practice on AYP is related to Vipassana meditation (http://www.dhamma.org/)
(2) the efficacy of Vipassana versus AYP
(3) whether you'd see major disadvantages in replacing "I am" meditation by Vipassana meditation; and why?

The reason I'm asking this question is that I've recently got to know about Vipassana meditation and am very much attracted to its total introspective focus (i.e. not focusing on any picture or word or sentence, merely observing within). I am therefore also considering taking the 10 day course. For this reason, it seems wise to be clear about which meditation to choose, as implementing both may well interfere with either's practice.

Thanks for reading this, I'm grateful for any suggestion you'd be willing to share.

The guru is in you,
Ruben

Edited by - AYPforum on Jan 12 2010 5:11:20 PM

wakeupneo

USA
171 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2010 :  5:38:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit wakeupneo's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I'm not very familiar with the AYP course but I don't image that they have too much in common.

I would recommend the 10 day, it is quite an experience. It's essentially self-observation and non-attachment.

You are taught to embody and employ non-attachment to the various experiences within one's body...positive and negative.