Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Procedure with Mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

yogani

USA
5195 Posts

Posted - Dec 29 2005 :  10:26:36 AM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all:

From my email today:
--------------------

Q:
I have been doing meditation in the AYP method for the last 8 months. I still cannot keep my mind on the mantra. My mind wanders a lot and these days I cannot seem to meditate for than 10 mins.. my mind just wont co-cooperate. At the most I can keep the mantra for 6 or 7 secs...and then I am lost... come back..and maybe another 6 or 7 secs. Am I doing something wrong? How will I ever progress at this rate. Is this common... after 8 months to be meditating like a beginner. I have never been able to keep my mind on the mantra for more than 10 sec. and that had not improved in the least bit over the 8 months. However I could easily sit for 20 mins before but now after 10 my mind just wont go back to the mantra... my eyes open and my mind almost refuses to co-operate. I must be doing something wrong....How do I keep my mind on the mantra for more than 10 secs and how do I go back to my 20 mins?

A:
The object of meditation is not to stay on the mantra. It is to easily favor it when we realize we are off it. Big difference. Losing the mantra is the name of the game. With that, the mind goes to stillness. It might be for an infinitesimal second and then back into thoughts and feelings. The thoughts and feelings are the signal that it has happened, so they are a good thing. Then when we realize we are in thoughts, we just pick up the mantra again wherever we left off. We do not hang onto the mantra. It will go away and that is perfect. Neither do we hang onto thoughts and feelings. We do not hang on to anything. We do not analyze during our meditation. We just do the procedure.