Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Strange Disturbing Experiences
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mr_anderson

USA
734 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2009 :  11:20:16 AM  Show Profile  Visit mr_anderson's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I'd just like to know if any other people have had strange or disturbing experiences while practising pranayama?

I've been meditating on and off for 2/3 years. I have only recently inflexibly committed myself to twice daily practise, and cutting out all alcohol or any intoxicating substances. I basically stopped casual drinking around 4 months ago.

I've been doing deep meditation and spinal breathing for only a few days.

During my second time doing spinal breathing, I felt a very creepy and strange presence with me. I felt a fear rise up inside myself.

I then had a horrible nightmare where people were delibarately infecting each other with contagious diseases. The central character in my dream was a maggot like body, with a talking human head.

I discontinued spinal breathing for the short term.

Has anyone else had frightening experiences like this?

Thank you

Scott

USA
969 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2009 :  12:05:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit Scott's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Yes, haha. This is the "scenery" that Yogani speaks of. It's just repressed emotions showing themselves symbolically in your imagination or dreams. The more courage you have regarding it, the quicker this kind of thing will pass.
Go to Top of Page

YogaIsLife

641 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2009 :  12:21:58 PM  Show Profile  Visit YogaIsLife's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Mr. anderson (nice name!)

Scott wrote:

quote:
The more courage you have regarding it, the quicker this kind of thing will pass.