Yoga, Career and Money
 Help me choose between 2 offers
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

insideout

USA
44 Posts

Posted - Mar 05 2008 :  2:03:12 PM  Show Profile  Visit insideout's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm currently employed as an actuarial analyst for a pension consulting firm. The work is a bit boring (accounting stuff) and including travel time it takes up 55-60 hrs/wk. If any of you are familiar with the actuarial career, you will know that I'm also studying my butt off for exams, which takes another 15-20 hrs/wk during exam season.

I recently received 2 offers, here is a break down:

1. Life insurance - Product design analyst
Pros:
* Total time ~45 hrs/wk including travel time.
* Creative work
* Lots of programming, which I enjoy
* Relaxed culture, family feel when I interviewed there
Cons:
* Slight pay cut (-$1,800/yr) but bigger bonus so it's a wash
* No rotation program between different actuarial departments (annuities, reserving, investments)

2. Property and Casualty (P&C) Insurance - Home Insurance Pricing Analyst
Pros:
* Mega Co., lots of room for growth
* P&C has the highest job satisfaction out of all of the actuarial fields
* Pay raise (+ 5%)
* Good rotation program, rotate every 1.5 years between depts
* Creative and more mathematical work
Cons:
* 60+ hrs/wk because of travel time (extreme commute, 3.5+ hrs/day)
* Business culture
* Strict exam policy, if you don't pass you get a notice of termination
* Greater number of and more difficult exams

If you had to choose between the 2, which one would you go with?

Sparkle

Ireland
1457 Posts

Posted - Mar 05 2008 :  2:15:56 PM  Show Profile  Visit Sparkle's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I would choose No.1
Time is too valuable, 45 hours including travel give a lot more time for meditation and stuff
Creative work, good for spiritual parctice