Tantra - A Holistic View of Spiritual Development
 Classical tantra initiation?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rudy

Australia
6 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2023 :  07:08:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone. So I have been practicing western style tantra and yoga for a couple of years but recently I feel like going more the traditional direction. I am even thinking to visit India although I have no idea where to go.
This site is really good. I gives me a good foundation. But when I read about classical tantra I get the feeling there is more to it. This site claims you do not need initiation for tantra but the texts I have read always claim you do and also you do need the personal grace of a guru.
Now I am even wondering what the classical initiation would be like. It is hard to find any references to it. I found this document that describes the initiation that some women received from a western "guru" who claims to be traditional. But these women accuse him of being abusive and the whole procedure seems very weird. Are these practices really happening in India? And are tantrik gurus always that abusive?
I know tantra is always stressing to be secret. But because of that it seems hard to judge what is genuine and what is not. And are tantrik gurus also abusive in India but get away with it because of the male dominated society?
Looking for someone who knows more about what is a real classical tantra initiation.

Christi

United Kingdom
4377 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2023 :  12:13:38 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Rudy,