New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

shuks

Singapore
4 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2018 :  10:43:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello All,

I wonder how long does it generally take for the witness to come into experience once we start practicing DM ?

I can imagine it will depend on a lot of parameters but in general for average new starter how long does it typically take ?

This may help us to keep patience for a minimum duration before getting overly concerned about the quality of our practices.

Thanks
Shashank

albechan

Italy
28 Posts

Posted - Jun 04 2018 :  02:38:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello Shuks,
Although I've been orbiting around things spiritual for a few years, I am very new to yoga and AYP practices in particular so perhaps I'm in the position to give you some hints that you may refer to.
The short answer to your question is: the experience of the witness during DM is instantaneous.
At first, you may not notice it because your expectations and excitement keep fueling your mind, stirring the surface from which the inner silence can be perceived.
Nevertheless, the very fact that you feel that something is implies the presence of the witness so you're already at that stage.

To stabilize the inner silence and living our life moving the focus of our perception from the monkey mind to stillness (inner silence), though is something different and how long that takes is really relative as it is a very subjective happening.

What can probably be felt by the majority of people in a pretty short time (about one week with regular DM practice twice a day) is the fact that the implosion of the mind following the absorption in the mantra that gives rise to that sort of numbing and magnetic feeling in your head tends to reverberate for a while after the meditation session.