Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 my kechari journey--looking for some advice
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kailash

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Sep 20 2016 :  12:17:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I already posted this on the AYP plus forum, but i figured I may get some more views and responses on the public forum

I have been working on kechari for about 4 months now. in the beginning, my goal was to attain it with purely talavya kriya as I had read Lahiri's thoughts on the subject. However, after 60 days of intensive efforts (average 15 minutes of talavya every day) I realized it was not going to be enough. However, looking back on it, I was usually skipping the stretching the tongue down and forwards bit, as licking my lips always chaps them, that could be why my progress was sub optimal.

After 60 days of talavya I still could not reach level 1 kechari (touching the soft palate) after some further reading, I decided to make the leap into snipping. I have a doctor in the family so he helped me out, My goal was to do it all in one go, the first time we did it, we had no good tools, only some old dull cuticle snippers (at the time we didn't have access to his clinic). They were so dull that it was more tearing then snipping. After some days recover, I bought some revlon cuticle snippers and we went for it. He went all out this time. Again, we realized we didnt have the right tools for the job, the snippers are great for snipping over extended periods of time, but certainly arent the best suited for surgical operations.