Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Is pranayama hurting my nervous system?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

marklar

Australia
3 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2016 :  10:41:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have what i believe to be a hyper-reactive sympathetic nervous system which fires off now hundreds of times a day. i have hyperarrousal  very badly

this isnt a medical condition. its caused by stress and anxiety and is a vicious cycle that feeds off itself

my question is : is doing pranayama aggravating my sympathetic nervous system and perpetuating the cycle?

here is where i stand with my practice

Ive been doing pranayama for about 2 months and havnt had any results in soothing my problems

i do nadi shodhana for a few minutes then bee breath for a few minutes followed by about 15 minutes of ujjayi

i dont do any breath retention

im very desperate in getting rid of my problems so any help is very much appreciated

thanks

sunyata

USA
1507 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2016 :  12:23:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Marklar,

Welcome to the forums.Yes, it sounds like pranayam is adding to it. Do you practice meditation after? Why don't you stop all pranayam for few days? Try five minutes of breath meditation and 5 minutes rest after. See how it feels.

Sunyata
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2201 Posts

Posted - Jan 30 2016 :  3:22:19 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
As Sunyata suggests, meditation accesses inner silence; pranayama moves/excites prana. Silence and prana need balance for your system to be stable and it seems as if you are only attending to one variable in this equation.
Go to Top of Page

marklar

Australia
3 Posts

Posted - Jan 31 2016 :  01:24:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
i dont meditate but have been wanting to