Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 10' with mantra vs 20' with breath
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

dofa66

France
46 Posts

Posted - Nov 28 2015 :  07:49:51 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi AYPers!

I've been doing DM with the AYAM mantra on and off for 2 years now. Further to several trials and adjustments, and having read lesson #367, I know that I am oversensitive and cannot do DM with the AYAM mantra more than 10 minutes in a row. So I'm doing my 10 minutes twice a day now.

Sometime ago I tried alternative methods including attention to the breath, as suggested in lesson #367, and I could indeed meditate for longer periods with this one without experiencing oversensitiveness symptoms. So I am wandering which practice is recommended in my case: keep on doing 10 minutes with AYAM or rather 20 minutes with breath?

Thank you for your suggestions (one from Yogani himself would be great )

Blanche

USA
861 Posts

Posted - Nov 29 2015 :  9:04:54 PM  Show Profile  Visit Blanche's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Dofa,

Mantra meditation takes you inside faster than the breath meditation, and it is very efficient in doing the "inside cleaning." Breath meditation is gentler, but also slower, and it does work better if one has an experienced guide to advise on the best course of meditation. If I were you, I would stay with the mantra meditation.

You might want to read again the lessons dealing with oversensitivity and grounding. Are you exercising every day? How is your diet? Do you sleep enough? Meditation brings and releases a lot of energy, and one has to take care of the "vessel" of the body-mind to be able to handle the energy increase.

Let us know how you are doing. Best wishes for the chosen path!
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2207 Posts

Posted - Nov 29 2015 :  10:41:34 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply