Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 SBP and DM sitting in a chair
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Dennis

USA
83 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2015 :  12:46:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I've been doing SBP and DM for about 7 months, sitting cross legged (Lotus pose?). Going well. I recently had a minor lower back problem and can't sit cross legged without pain. So I've been doing SBP and DM sitting in an upright chair with feet flat on the ground. I feel I'm getting better results sitting in the chair.

I know Yogani recommends sitting cross legged but also allows sitting in a chair. I don't know if I should continue in the chair if I get better results. When my lower back gets better, I'll try cross legged again to see if the chair is still better. Any thoughts on this?

BillinL.A.

USA
375 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2015 :  1:19:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I think its totally up to you depending on what works.

I do both. Its fun having the variety. When sitting in a chair I use a tennis ball instead of my heal to emulate the siddhasana stimulation.

Good luck with your back!
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2207 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2015 :  4:28:35 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I sit astride a bolster, as if on a saddle (thunderbolt style) and like Billin, use a hacky sack as a perineum ball. I've meditated in chairs, in cars, planes, and trains, on rocks in the woods and at the shore, even lying in bed. knowing that you could meditate anywhere, if even for just minutes, allows you freedom. That said, having a consistant comfortable upright seat in your home sustains your practice.
Go to Top of Page

Ecdyonurus

Switzerland
479 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2015 :  4:39:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply