Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Kechari Tendon Question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AviC

Canada
17 Posts

Posted - Jul 19 2014 :  1:02:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit AviC's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

I've been working on Kechari for about 6 months and I'm making good progress. I thought that once I got my tongue behind the uvula I would be there, but in my mouth, there is a soft bit of flesh behind the uvula that seems to go very far back. In fact, it seemed that the more I practised the further back this bit of flesh goes, almost like it's expanding backwards in response to my tongue. This is frustrating, but perhaps healing.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I hit what I am fairly sure is the back edge of the soft pallet. It was several cm behind the uvula and was like a knife edge, very sharp and definite. However, the tissues there felt extremely sensitive and also delicate, I felt as if my tongue might be tearing them even though I was trying to proceed as gently as possible. I read in other posts that this back part is supposed to fold down, but so far for me it seems to be holding rigidly in place or even moving further up and back. The best I've been able to do is get the tip of my tongue around the edge and rest it gently on the top of the back edge for a while. This has produced some blissful sensations.

So my questions: Is there something wrong with my tendon back there or is this normal? What can I do to relax the tendon to fold it down (currently it seems to be moving up and back)? Is there a concern about tearing delicate tissues with the tongue?

Thank you!
Avi

Chakburthi

Germany
35 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2014 :  09:32:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Avi

Sounds like you are progressing nicely. Everything is just fine.