Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Please describe 'stillness' and 'the witness'
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

flying solo

Australia
7 Posts

Posted - Dec 01 2013 :  01:57:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been doing AYP meditation for about 6 months. I haven't found (in the lessons) exactly what's meant by the terms stillness and the witness during meditation. My guess is stillness means the mind has stopped or almost stopped producing thoughts. I understand this results in bliss, but I'd appreciate an actual description of what bliss feels like. My guess is that the witness means having the ability to watch thoughts without becoming caught up or involved in them. If this is correct, then I'd say I can do that well. My issue is that despite how long I've been meditating, my mind is extremely active during each session. At other times I'm always aware of a constant stream of thoughts all day long. It's as if each thought is said out loud, making them hard not to notice. When this happens during meditation I just return to the mantra as you suggest. At other times I bring myself back to the present moment, where, up until about a month ago, I would feel love and ecstasy. I should add that I've been meditating on and off for about twenty five years. During that time I had a few experiences of expanded consciousness, but mainly I meditated for the vast number of insights it produced. I'm finding any sign of stillness/bliss in my current meditation confusing because occasionally I experience what could be viewed as signs of progress, i.e. pressure in the third eye and crown regions, brief and mild feelings of ecstasy, constant energy in the root chakra area. Prior to starting AYP meditation (and while not meditating at all) I was experiencing quite intense and frequent feelings of ecstasy, synchronicities, joy and love. Those feelings have been slowly slipping awa