Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 samyama question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Manipura

USA
870 Posts

Posted - Jul 22 2006 :  2:54:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit Manipura's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm relatively new to samyama, still in the awkward stage, but nevertheless in awe of its power. My question is this: If I've had one of those frustrating meditation sessions where for 19 of the 20 minutes my mind has been occupied with banal thoughts, should I still proceed with samyama? Seems pointless to do so without having established inner silence during meditation, but I'd like to hear how the rest of you handle this. Thanks.

Scott

USA
969 Posts

Posted - Jul 22 2006 :  7:14:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit Scott's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Yes, do it.
Go to Top of Page

Sparkle

Ireland
1457 Posts

Posted - Jul 23 2006 :  06:48:10 AM  Show Profile  Visit Sparkle's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Meg
If I have had one of those meditations and start samyama it usually brings me into inner silence with a wallop.
Don't know why this is, perhaps its because the meditation, although appearing to be non-productive, is, as has been said many times on the forum here, every bit as productive as a so called good session.

Louis
Go to Top of Page

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Jul 28 2006 :  09:56:32 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Meg,
I have been going through a phase where every session I finish my meditation and my mind says.. Oh! do I have to do Shamyama? And then I start.. and I am totally into it after that. Not sure what is going on?