New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

Radharani

USA
843 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2013 :  8:09:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit Radharani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
As mentioned previously, I will be teaching yoga on a non-profit basis when Lothlorien House opens in June. But, I still need a way to pay the bills, and jobs around here are very few, far between, low-paying and a long commute from my home.

I work as a telephone Psychic and have had sort of an ego problem over my lack of a "respectable job." After all, I'm supposed to be a Psychologist! That's why I got my M.A., but my licensing is not valid in Florida. So, the closest I was able to get was "Psychic." I've been a bit embarrassed about that, especially since where I live (in the Bible Belt) "psychic" is considered at best "entertainment," and at worst, satanic. When people ask "what do you do for a living?" and I say "psychic" they smile and roll their eyes, or else bite their tongue so as to restrain themselves from saying, "ok, you are going straight to hell!"

The cleaning & design business would have been more "respectable" simply because it is a "normal" occupation, but it failed despite massive advertising so apparently wasn't meant to be, and no other viable options have manifested.

Well, now I find myself finally coming to terms with my Psychic job. Although it doesn't pay enough, at least it IS a "job" of sorts, and many folks in my town are unemployed, so I am grateful to have something, especially working at home where I don't have to spend $$ on gas. This job DOES give me the opportunity to practice counseling, which is what I am trained to do, and I enjoy it. Although I get bored with the "fortune telling" aspect, apparently I have the gift and therefore can use it to help others.