Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Arent we meditating all our life?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

nearoanoke

USA
525 Posts

Posted - Jul 02 2006 :  11:00:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
At the time I was a student, I was trying to read a book and losing that concentration and coming back to it. I wanted to read and concentrate and used to find it challenging and interesting why I cant keep the concentration like that without losing it.

I find this similar to meditation in the aspect that we lose concentration and come back to something. Not only reading, everything we try to do in life is somewhat related to this where we try to concentrate and do something and lose it occasionally. Why doesnt this enlighten us?

What is the specific thing in meditation that is not there in reading or other acts of life. Is it concentrating on one mantra instead of concentrating on many things? Or is the word we chose for mantra itself which has some power. Or is it the difference in the goals in our mind?

-Near

Edited by - AYPforum on Feb 04 2007 12:21:27 AM

Etherfish

USA
3615 Posts

Posted - Jul 02 2006 :  12:11:26 PM  Show Profile  Visit Etherfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I would choose the last option.
I believe it is "intent". Many saints have reached great heights using all sorts of methods, the only common one being bhakti.
Go to Top of Page

Wolfgang

Germany
470 Posts

Posted - Jul 02 2006 :  12:23:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit Wolfgang's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
When I am reading something, then I try to grasp the truth in it.
Trying to grasp the truth is in a way some kind of meditation.
Sometimes when I read a book the second time, I grasp other aspects
of truth. When we loose concentration, then may be we are not
ready to grasp the truth.
Reading a book, meditating on a mantra, its all concentration