New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

ak33

Canada
229 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2013 :  6:36:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi guys, I have been meditating for about 4 months (AYP deep meditation for one). Over these past few months I've been noticing a side effect that's been starting to annoy me a bit lately. I can't make smalltalk with anyone. I just get bored of the topic unless its actually worth discussing/important. I don't mean this in an egoic way, in fact its bothering me. On the other hand, I save a lot of energy over needless arguments/discussions, so thats always a plus. Anyone else had these experiences?

apatride

New Caledonia
94 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2013 :  7:12:56 PM  Show Profile  Visit apatride's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I have the opposite effet : I was unable to do any smalltalk, and now I can do it with anyone : friends, colleagues or strangers met in the street.

I find pleasure in smalltalk because I was before focused on the interest of talk, and now I'm appreciating more and more the simple fact that I'm bonding with people, even for a few minutes and with no need to build a strong relations with them.

It's just energy and information passing from one pole to another pole, basically. Smalltalk is the form it takes, but the real enjoyment is the underlying exchange.
Go to Top of Page

ak33

Canada
229 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2013 :  7:49:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Maybe I need to wait to see the effects you described?
Go to Top of Page

Etherfish

USA
3615 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2013 :  7:57:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit Etherfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply