Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Distracted by breath stopping
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lsmithbco

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Sep 22 2012 :  4:51:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing the deep "I am" meditation for a few months now and have reached this stage where my breathing slows way down and/or gets really shallow or stops. I get scared and then distracted by this. What is happening? Any helpful suggestions for handling this?

Thanks.

Bodhi Tree

2972 Posts

Posted - Sep 22 2012 :  6:11:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit Bodhi Tree's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
That's good stuff. Deep Meditation slows down multiple processes in the body: breathing, metabolism, digestion, heart rate, etc. Stillness isn't just an abstract idea--it's a reality that's reflected in the body/mind.

I think Parahamsa Yogananda or one of those bad-ass yogis once said: "Breathlessness is deathlessness."

The only suggestion for a distraction such as discomfort with the cessation of breathing is: easily favor the repetition of the mantra. That is the magical technique. So, if it's difficult to come back to the mantra because of this fearful sensation, you can let your awareness linger with the feeling until it dissipates. Just like a pronounced feeling of pain, or a persistent thought-stream, this scenery will pass, and its place, only stillness and the effortless refining of the mantra will remain.
Go to Top of Page

lsmithbco

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Sep 23 2012 :  09:42:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply